Quiet Times

Thankfully, Jesus Never “Shuts Down.”

Today, we all woke up to a country in the middle of a shut down. I sat down this morning to have my cup of coffee, only to find out that complete chaos has taken over Washington. To be honest, I am not sure what that really means. I know that certain government offices will be put on hold and federal museums and national parks will be closed until a compromise is reached. According to ABC 6 news this morning, over 80,000 government workers will go without pay.

So, what does this mean for us? Unfortunately, classes at Ohio State are not cancelled. I still have a midterm and a paper due…. and the world has not stopped spinning. What I am most thankful for today is the fact that, amid crisis, Jesus does not leave us.

Deuteronomy 31:6 tells us, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

I have been learning that although Jesus makes us “wait,” He never truly “shuts down.” Most of us, including myself, are always in a hurry and we want ALL the details. I would love to know where I will be after graduation, if I will be dating a year from now, what kind of job I will have and if I will still be leading Young Life. But, the Lord is content to work in His timeframe and He will reveal the details to me when the timing is right.

I read a great article in Relevant Magazine this morning, highlighting five reasons that God makes us wait. The article tells us that waiting reveals our true motives, builds patience in our lives, builds anticipation, transforms our character and (most importantly) builds intimacy and dependency on God.

Some of the most intimate times in our lives are when we rely on the Lord, not on our own understanding. I need to remember that although it may seem like the Lord isn’t answering my prayers, revealing all His secrets and giving me exactly what I want… He hasn’t left me. And, He certainly hasn’t “shut down.”

In case you need another reason to smile, check out this beautiful sunrise on South Campus.

Sunrise on South Campus. September coming to an end.

Sunrise on South Campus. September coming to an end.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Thankfully, Jesus Never “Shuts Down.”

  1. Pingback: Blog Comments ! | chelsmccoy

  2. Gabrielle Bicknell says:

    I really love reading your posts Alanna. I am so thankful that Jesus never leaves us and that he makes us wait. Although I am seriously the most impatient person in the world and I am always asking him for answers and I am always being told to wait, I am so thankful for those times in my life when it makes me wait. Even though I am still extremely impatient, I can see where I have grown. Thanks for being encouraging!

  3. Thanks for sharing your heartfelt thoughts! I am VERY thankful that Jesus never shuts down and that HE is God and not the US Government! We need to keep praying for our country’s leaders–for wisdom and discernment! God bless your day! And thanks for following!

Leave a Reply

