Quiet Times

Learning to BE STILL in His Presence

Today, I spent my break between classes reading a devotional called Jesus Calling. I needed some encouragement. On a cloudy day like today, I couldn’t past up the temptation to hike up to the 11th floor at Thompson Library at Ohio State and enjoy some time  with my Creator.

Image

11th Floor. Thompson Library. Ohio State. September 19, 2013.

Sarah Young, the author of Jesus Calling, writes her devotional in a way that allows readers to feel as if Jesus is talking to them (its based on scripture). It may be cheesy, but I LOVE it. I never read it on the correct day. Its like a calendar, and each page is dated. Today I read the entry from March 27, titled “Be Still in My Presence.”

What does it mean to be still? As a Young Life Leader, a college student, a part-time nanny, a bartender/server, a daughter, a housemate and a senior in college who has NO idea what the next chapter of her life looks like… there isn’t time to be still! Not to mention that I try to keep up with this blog for a communications class, run two Twitters (personal and professional), check my connections on LinkedIn, post artsy pictures on Instagram, “like” my grandpa’s goofy Facebook status, update my wedding board on Pinterest, read the new Nicholas Sparks novel, and learn how to use iOS7… all while attempting to avoid running into my ex-boyfriend on a campus with over 60,000 students. Even my “down-time” is not truly restful.

But boy, let me tell you that this Quiet Time was truly fruitful. Young pointed out that time with Jesus is the most important thing I will do ALL day. Do I truly believe that? I wish I did. She also uses Colossians 1:27 to point out that the greatest thing about me is that the Holy Spirit is living and working in me.

“To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the GLORIOUS riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the HOPE of glory.” Colossians 1:27

Finally, while sitting on a comfy couch on the 11th floor, I realized (thanks to His Grace) that these “things” that are making me so busy are simply blessings from the Lord that I have made into idols. The Giver, He is infinitely greater than any gift that he imparts to us. And it breaks His heart to see that I have turned his little blessings into idols that come before Him. I have forsaken my first love.

So stillness was just what I needed before heading to my Earth Science class and diving back into college life. And in case you were wondering, my professor is this awesome hippy guy who loves talking about water issues and Canada.

I am still learning what it means to be still, but I am thankful for times like this when I get a tiny glimpse of what Heaven will look like.

DONT WORRY, following tradition at Ohio State, I rubbed the statue of William Oxley’s bald head on the way out of the library.

Standard

Leave a Reply

