A Life of Communication

A Life of Communication

Welcome to my blog! These posts are focused on communications and public relations for a class at The Ohio State University.

Strategic Communication Background

As of today, I have little experience (outside of class) working in a communications related field. Although, every job takes a little bit of strategic communication! From sales at Best Buy and bar tending for Creative Cuisine to nannying, each job requires basic communication skills.

Volunteering with Young Life

The most important position I currently hold is volunteering for a non-profit, Young Life. What is Young Life? It starts with adults (mainly college students) who are concerned enough about high school kids to go to them, on their turf and in their culture, building bridges of authentic friendship. As a Young Life leader, I log many hours with kids. We listen to their stories and learn what’s important to them because we genuinely care about their joys, triumphs, heartaches and setbacks. The core purpose of Young Life is to build relationships with high school students and share the Gospel with them! As a team of leaders, we host after school clubs, meetings, and weekend retreats.

Each week, a leader gives a five to nine minute talk, introducing Jesus at the end of club. Simple message, simple communication. As a Young Life Leader at Reynoldsburg High School I act as the team’s public relation professional. I run the Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. I help promote Young Life events and work on fundraising. These are all vital skills to the strategic communications field!Image

Leading Young Life at Saranac Lake Young Life Camp, New York, Summer 2013

Future Plans

In the future, I would love to continue to do ministry part-time. Ideally, I would like to work in healthcare communications or non-profit public relations. Down the line (if the Lord allows it) I would love to be a mother! Eventually, using the communication and event planning skills I have learned over time, I would love to own a plot of land and build a barn. The barn would be used for hosting weddings and events! I am your typical Pinterest loving, romantic! With one year left of school, I need to start figuring out what the future will look like.

I pray that the beaches of South Carolina start calling my name….

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Life of Communication

  1. Gabrielle Bicknell says:

    Alanna, I love this so much! I’m excited to see what you have to write this semester because as you know, I am also a Young Life leader. I really liked the way that you explained what Young Life is because I always have trouble explaining. Looking forward to your future posts!
    Gabee

  2. Alanna, your dedication to Young Life is inspiring! I don’t know how you juggle everything, but I definitely admire you for that. I love your idea of building a space to host events in the future. I may need that space someday for an event. 🙂

    p.s. I love Pinterest too!

  3. Pingback: Blog Comments | overworked and underapPReciated

Leave a Reply

